Skip to main content

Information

WHY GIVE

Participating in West Virginia University’s United Way campaign is a powerful way for the WVU community to come together and show that we are committed to improving the quality of life and economic opportunities for all the people who live and work in Greater Morgantown.

The WVU community recognizes that United Way occupies a unique role among all the nonprofits in the area: the organization is changing the odds for families and communities by working toward lasting solutions, not short-term charity, focusing on education, income, and health – the building blocks for a good life.

United Way gets results by bringing people and organizations together to create innovative solutions to the most pressing challenges in our region.

Last year, contributions from West Virginia University faculty and staff helped change the story for over 32,000 individuals.

WHAT IS THE UNITED WAY CAMPAIGN?

Through its annual fund-raising campaign, the United Way of Monongalia and Preston Counties helps support 24 health and human service agencies in those counties. These agencies do not have the resources to mount elaborate fund-raising campaigns on their own; therefore, their survival is dependent on the funds they receive from the United Way. Each year, these agencies’ services impact the lives of thousands of individuals who need a helping hand.

The United Way, in cooperation with WVU, is authorized to administer the West Virginia State Employees Combined Campaign for University faculty, staff, and students. The United Way campaign is the only philanthropy that the institution commits to each year. The campaign, which is now in its 36th year is the only charity that is allowed to solicit from employees on campus.

HOW ARE CONTRIBUTIONS DISTRIBUTED?

Contributions that are not designated for specific agencies on employee pledges are allocated to the 24 agencies according to the recommendations of a 31-member Citizens’ Review Committee. Committee members make their recommendations after spending weeks visiting each agency, and reviewing services and financial operations. Final approval of the recommendations is made by the United Way volunteer Board of Directors.

WHO IS LEADING THE CAMPAIGN?

The 2020-2021 Campaign Chairs are former WVU President David Hardesty and WVU Parents Club founder Susan Hardesty.

DOES ANY OF THE MONEY RAISED GO TO UNITED WAY WORLDWIDE?

No. No donor dollars go to United Way Worldwide programming. 

WHAT IS THE COST OF ADMINISTRATIVE OVERHEAD?

The local United Way administrative overhead is approximately 12.2 percent, a percentage cost much less than when member agencies do separate fund-raising. 

HOW DO I MAKE CONTRIBUTIONS?

Login into the online pledging system or fill out the paper pledge form. If you have not received a form you can download your own here.

WHO OVERSEES THE CAMPAIGN?

The campaign is coordinated through the President’s Office.

President's Office: Bonnie Anderson - bonnie.anderson@mail.wvu.edu

President's Office: Robin Yorty - robin.yorty@mail.wvu.edu

Campaign Coordinator: Macall Speaker - macall@unitedwaympc.org

WVU Ambassadors:

Benjamin Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources: Vicky Rousseau - vicky.rousseau@mail.wvu.edu

College of Creative Arts: James Froemel - jfroemel@mail.wvu.edu

College of Education and Human Services: Bethany Ackley - bethany.ackley@mail.wvu.edu

College of Law: Jennifer Powell - jennifer.powell@mail.wvu.edu

College of Physical Activity and Sports Sciences: Allison Hetrick - allison.hetrick@mail.wvu.edu

Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources & Design: Tammy Blake - tammy.blake@mail.wvu.edu

Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources & Design: Pamala Brookover - pamala.brookover@mail.wvu.edu

Eberly College of Arts and Sciences: Stephane Ballant - stephen.ballant@mail.wvu.edu

Eberly College of Arts and Sciences: Marion "Carol" Zwickel - czwickel@wvu.edu

Eberly College of Arts and Sciences: Lori Britton - lbritton@wvu.edu

John Chambers College of Business & Economics: Jamie Kiska - jamie.kiszka@mail.wvu.edu

John Chambers College of Business & Economics: Gary LeDonne - galedonne@mail.wvu.edu

John Chambers College of Business & Economics: Paul Speaker - paul.speaker@mail.wvu.edu

Reed College of Media: Erica Lindsay - erica.lindsay@mail.wvu.edu

School of Dentistry: Martha Sturms - msturms@hsc.wvu.edu

School of Medicine and HSC Administration: Starlette Reed - starlette.reed@hsc.wvu.edu

School of Nursing: Renee Pforr - renee.pforr@hsc.wvu.edu

School of Pharmacy: Angie Frame - acframe@hsc.wvu.edu

School of Public Health: Shonette Kingston - shonnette.kingston@hsc.wvu.edu

Student Life: Gretchen Meyer - gretchen.meyer@mail.wvu.edu

Legal Affairs: Angie Eaglen - angie.eaglen@mail.wvu.edu

University Police Department: Lindsay Bailie - lindsay.bailie@mail.wvu.edu

University Relations, Enrollment Management, Visitor’s Center and Student Financial Services: Joyce Anderson - joyce.anderson@mail.wvu.edu

Auxiliary & Business Services: Marcie Milans - marcie.milans@mail.wvu.edu

Talent and Culture: Melissa Patterson - melissa.patterson@mail.wvu.edu

WVU Libraries: Thea Browne - thea.browne@mail.wvu.edu

President’s Office: Amy Garbrick - amy.garbrick@mail.wvu.edu

University Events: Karen Whisler - karen.whisler@mail.wvu.edu

Academic Affairs/Provost’s Office: Tamira Smith - tamira.smith@mail.wvu.edu

Research and Economic Development: David Satterfield - dcsatterfield@mail.wvu.edu

Student United Way: Dana Musick - dmusick2@mail.wvu.edu

Erickson Alumni Center: Jason Mullinix - jason.mullinix@mail.wvu.edu

Division of Finance: Karen Brock - karen.brock@mail.wvu.edu

Division of Finance: Renee Pownall - renee.pownall@mail.wvu.edu

CONTACT

Macall Speaker, Campaign Coordinator
macall@unitedwaympc.org
(304) 322-2064